Phew. Now back to work.

I’m a little messed up in my schedule right now, and keep waking up at 130am (assuming I was able to get to bed by then) ready to go. So here I am. The next issue of GivingCity magazine is now available to download here.

givingcity2-cover

I’m pleased with it but also glad it’s over for another issue, and I can focus on some other tasks. The next step with GivingCity is to start selling advertising in it and making it pay for itself. I’m pretty sure we’ve picked the worst time possible to try to start a magazine, and of course doing it entirely in our spare time isn’t ideal, but we’ve got to start somewhere right?

givingcity-issue2-5 givingcity-issue2-6 givingcity-issue2-8 givingcity-issue2-15 givingcity-issue2-20 givingcity-issue2-25

Anyway, we’re always looking for feedback on the magazine, so we can put out the best product we can. Of course I feel like there are some shockingly bad pages in there that I now wish I’d done differently, but there’s also a lot of stuff I’m happy with, so I guess I’ll live. I do feel like it’s a big improvement on the first issue, and I hope the third is even more of a step forward than this was over the first. Please take a look and tell us what you think.

Explore posts in the same categories: Advertising, Clients, contents pages, cool, Covers, deadlines, design, digital magazines, Future, Getting paid on time, Illustration, Infographics, Magazines, Photography, Production, production in progress, Readers, Typography, Why is it like this?, Why magazines?

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Phew. Now back to work.”

  1. Sandy Says:

    What would you have done differently in hindsight?


    • In hindsight, there are a couple of pages that I think could be cleaned up a little, especially toward the back where we list non-profits in this issue. I’m also not happy with the page at the front where we talk about how to use the magazine, list the contributors, etc. It feels really sloppy, the elements too disparate and just generally not well done. But as it’s only the second issue, I feel like I can afford to play with it until I get it right.


Leave a Reply

