Nylon magazine is nice to look at. In a good/lazy way.

100_1960

It’s been a while since I had a chance to post anything. Excuses, excuses, I hate when I hear myself start to make them. I’ve had this issue of Nylon sitting around my house for a while. It’s the February ’09 issue with Camilla Belle on the cover (star of the incredibly shit remake of “When A Stranger Calls”. I thought it was shit, but I know it’s REALLY shit when my wife makes an effort to stay awake just to see how bad it can get).

But Nylon magazine, I don’t know if it’s just because I haven’t had time to read recently, but goddamn, picking up this magazine from the pile I have in the home office* this evening really reminded me how fun designing and shooting a cool ass fucking magazine can be. I went through this issue from beginning to end and while I’m happy to admit I didn’t read any of it, it felt so nice to turn through a magazine that felt like it was fun to put together. The photography reminds me of my friend who never speaks to me called Tracy Goudie, an excellent photographer… one of those rare photographers like Joel Salcido, who you know you can leave alone with any project and they will deliver way more than you expected… (assuming they still take your calls). Here’s a bunch of stuff from the magazine. I don’t have a lot to say about the design, just look at it and … well whatever. Sorry about the bad photos.

100_1971
NEON!

white borders around cutouts

Love these white thick borders around cutouts… so easy to do this wrong, but this magazine gets it so right it’s annoying.

LETTERS WTF

Whatever this is on the letters page, I have to steal this idea. Is this reader submitted drawings, or stuff from the last issue? I have no idea, as that would mean reading it, but it looks cool!

FOB BITCH!

These front of book looking pages are awesome. Too many of them to put down here.

100_1972

100_1970

100_1973

100_2001

Explore posts in the same categories: color choice, cool, Covers, design, Future, Illustration, Influence, Magazines, Photography, Production, Typography, Uncategorized, Why is it like this?

4 Comments on “Nylon magazine is nice to look at. In a good/lazy way.”

  1. Tamia Says:

    Hmmm…I too am liking the white border around the cutouts. Might have to try that in the next issue of SSM.

    I love that they did an Emily Valentine spread!


  2. I think that’s why magazines in print won’t ever completely die: Some of us just like the feel of simply picking them up!


  3. Yes! How the paper looks and feels is probably 40% of my decision to buy, especially on titles I’ve never bought before.

  4. Nate Says:

    My friend went to school at SVA with their art director.

    He makes me jealous:

    http://actualidea.com


Leave a Reply

